A Protein-Only Meal

One of the protein-only meals which is easy to come-by in Phana is this fish. We baked this one in our little electric oven, but we can buy them grilled in the market, too. It is Pla Chon, I believe.

The meat on this fish is really good, though you need to be a bit careful to pick out the small bones. Of course, being Thailand, the flavour of the fish is enhanced by cooking it with a stuffing of lemon grass and some other herbs.

One of these makes an ample lunch for me. Dr Dukan would be proud.

baked fish

About isantraveller

I have been in and around North-East Thailand for more years than I can recall. I now live here semi-permanently, spending 6 months here and 6 months in England most years. I have travelled in 31 countries on 3 continents (Europe, Asia, Africa) so I am a bit of a traveller.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Protein-Only Meal

  1. Ashley Wright says:

    If only Loughborough could provide the same source of delicious high protein meals! Although I cannot complain about Liews cooking. Liew has been creating many new additions to her cookery book with tasty low-carb meals.

    How does the diet actually make you feel? Do you feel hungry much and/or does it effect your mood at all? Since our diet break over xmas, Liew and I have lost another 1Kg in this 1st week of 2011. Looks like we got back into the healthy routine again, Let’s hope it continues.

    Happy dieting!

    • Hi, Ashley. Yes, I’ve been looking out for Liew’s new recipes. I was tempted by the salmon Teryaki until I remembered that fried things are out for me. I might try it on one of my protein-only days, no veg. Or with steamed veg, perhaps. Actually I’m not getting much variety but strangely I don’t mind. Maybe I’m just glad to have SOMETHING to eat.

      How do I feel? Well, lighter, in body of course, but also mentally more alert and generally pleased with life. Of course, not going to work helps, so when I feel a bit tired I can take a nap. But another strange thing is that I do that less often than I used to, I think.
      Anyway, glad you enjoyed your food over the holidays and you seem to haveot back into the diet OK. I should think that is always difficult to do once you break the habit for a while. A lot of this eating business seems to be just habit.

      Anyway, good luck as you continue. Keep me informed!

Leave a Reply

